THE 9th AND 10th VANADIS AWARDS – CALL FOR NOMINATION AWARD FROM THE V12 (VIRTUAL) AND V13 (IN PERSON) MEETINGS



The Vanadis Award

The Vanadis Award is presented to a researcher in the area of Vanadium Science on the basis of contributions to vanadium chemistry, biochemistry, biology, pharmaceutical science, materials or combinations thereof, and will be given to those having displayed innovative research and have had a documented impact on the direction of the field.

The nominee will be selected on the basis of the following criteria

- i) Innovative research
- Contribution and creativity in vanadium science reflected by a) the quality contributions and/or b) the studies in chemical, physical, biochemical, biological or pharmaceutical systems.
- ii) Development of new applications of vanadium.

 Contributions are recognized in a) chemical/biochemical applications, b) biological/pharmaceutical applications or c) other fundamental or technological applications.
- iii) Wide-ranging influence of the nominee's work on the research of others in one or more disciplines History of high quality and impact publications, patents or other contributions.
- iv) Service of the nominee to progress, application and exploration of vanadium in science.

The Awards will be presented at the 13^{th} International Vanadium Symposium in Lisbon, Portugal Nov. 22-24, 2023. The 9^{th} Award is given retroactively for the V12 virtual meeting and the 10^{th} Award for the V13 meeting in Lisbon.

Previous Vanadis awardees: Debbie C. Crans (2004, at V4), Dieter Rehder (2006, at V5), Toshikazu Hirao (2008, at V6), Vincent L. Pecoraro (2010, at V7), Israel E. Wachs (2012, at V8), João Costa Pessoa (2014, at V9), Ron Wever and Tamas Kiss (2016, at V10) and Armando Pombeiro (2018, at V11).

Procedure for Nomination Submission and Selection

Nominations for the Vanadis Award should be sent to Debbie Crans by **October 15, 2023**, *via email:* debbie.crans@colostate.edu. A receipt will be sent confirming the nomination. Only one nomination should be submitted by a nominator and should include: 1) no more than a 1-page description of the contributions of the candidate, 2) the candidate's curriculum vitae emphasizing the vanadium work, and 3) a supporting 1-page letter from a leader in the Inorganic Chemistry community.

Each award winner is selected by a **selection committee**, prior to the V13 International Vanadium Symposium. Present members of the selection committee: Valeria Conte (Italy), João Costa Pessoa (Portugal), Debbie Crans (USA, Chair), Craig McLauchlan (USA), Vincent Pecoraro (USA), Armando Pombeiro (Portugal), Israel Wachs (USA) and Ron Wever (The Netherlands).